#CILAC18 has ended
avatar for Carlos Cabrera Martinez

Carlos Cabrera Martinez

Chair of the LAAAMP Regional and Usage Committee for the Caribbean
Dr. Carlos R. Cabrera was born in San Juan, Puerto Rico and obtained his B.S. in Chemistry at the University of Puerto Rico at Río Piedras (UPRRP). In 1987, Dr. Cabrera obtained his Ph.D. in Analytical Chemistry (Photoelectrochemistry) at Cornell University, Ithaca, New York nder the guidance of Professor Héctor D. Abruña. After spending two years as a postdoctoral fellow at The University of Texas at Austin, Dr. Cabrera joined the Department of Chemistry at the UPRRP. Currently, Dr. Cabrera has been the University of Puerto Rico Associate Vice President for Technology and is a Full Professor of Chemistry. Dr. Cabrera has mentored 32 Ph.D.s and 6 M.S.s in Chemistry and Chemical Physics. Over 70 undergraduate students have worked in his laboratory and most of them have continued toward their Ph.D. in Chemistry. He is member of the American Chemical Society, Electrochemical Society, and Materials Research Society. During his career, Dr. Cabrera has been part of the organizing committee of local and international meetings. Dr. Cabrera was the Project Director of the NASA-MIRO Center for Advanced Nanoscale Materials for over 10 years. Dr. Cabrera’s team was able to develop strong collaborative efforts with NASA-Ames Research Center, NASA-Glenn Research Center, and JPL in areas related to Life Support Systems, Advanced High Energy Materials, and Carbon‑Based Sensors and Biosensors. Currently, Dr. Cabrera is Project Director of the NSF-PREM Center for Interfacial Electrochemistry of Energy Materials, in collaboration with the Cornell High Energy Synchrotron Source (CHESS), and the NSF-CREST Center for Innovation, Research, and Education in Environmental Nanotechnology. Dr. Cabrera has over 180 peer reviewed papers, 8 book chapters, an Co-Editor of a book titled Advanced Nanomaterials for Aerospace Applications (to be published in 2014), and two provisional patents. Cabrera’s group has worked at the Brookhaven National Laboratory- National Synchrotron Light Source (NSLS) and at CHESS.